Florida Massage Therapy CEU Requirements
Renewal requirements for the Florida massage therapy licensing period ending on August 31, 2011 are as follows:
24 total hours from Florida Board of Massage Therapy approved CEU Providers.
2 hours must be a course in Medical Errors.
2 hours must be a course in Professional Ethics.
2 hours must be a course in Florida Laws and Rules.
Licensees must also take a 1 to 3 hour HIV/AIDS course. This course does not count toward the 24 Continuing Education hours requirement.
Licensees completing their first renewal must complete 1 hour of continuing education for each month of licensure.
New licensees are not required to complete the 2 hours Ethics and the 2 Hour Florida Law requirement.
All courses must be Florida Board of Massage Therapy Approved.
New regulations have established that at least 12 of the credits relevant to massage should be taken in a classroom.
Next renewal date is August 31, 2011
Certificants are required to submit 48 continuing education hours and documentation for 200 hours of work experience completed during the four-year certification cycle. Six hours of ethics must be taken from an NCBTMB Approved Provider, with two of the six hours on Standard V of NCBTMB’s Standards of Practice.
To know more about the recertification process visit: http://www.ncbtmb.org/certificants_recertification.php.